The Rhonda M. Williams Doctoral Dissertation Award recognizes an outstanding doctoral dissertation written by an African American or other doctoral candidate of color, about an economic/political topic related to the NEA mission of producing and distributing knowledge about economic issues that are of exceptional interest to promoting economic growth among native and immigrant African Americans, Latinos, and other people of color. Learn more.
Frequency: Annually
Application Deadline:  September 30, 2013
Next Award Date: January 2014 Annual Meeting
Past Awardees:

The Samuel Z. Westerfield Award is conferred on an African American economist with a distinguished record throughout their career of scholarship, teaching, and public service.
Frequency: Every 3-5 years
Next Award Date: 2015, presented at the January 2016 Annual Meeting
Past Awardees: 2011 William “Sandy” Darity

The Sir Arthur Lewis Memorial Lecture recognizes an economist who has produced seminal research on economic development or made a significant contribution to economic development through public service.
Frequency: Every 3-5 years
Next Award Date: 2014, presented at the January 2015 Annual Meeting
Past Awardees:

The Alfred Edwards Award for Service to the National Economic Association is conferred on a member of the NEA who has performed exceptional service to the organization as determined by the board and an awards committee.
Frequency: Every 5 years
Next Award Date: 2016, presented at the January 2017 Annual Meeting
Past Awardees: