2021 Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize

February 12, 2020

The International Association for Feminist Economics announces the second round of the Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize to be awarded biennially for a work of original scholarship in the field of feminist economics. Deadline for submissions: 15 May 2020

The prize has been established by Bina Agarwal (IAFFE’s first President from the Global South) to honor her late parents, who, throughout their lives and with great generosity, supported young women to pursue their dreams of higher education, and chart out a path of intellectual excellence.

The prize will recognize books that demonstrate new pathways in theory, methodology, empirical analysis, or policy, on any aspect of gender and the economy, and relating to any part of the world. All books in English, including interdisciplinary ones, but within the broad ambit of gender and the economy, will be considered, regardless of the author’s disciplinary background. Single or dual authored books are eligible, but not multi-authored or edited volumes, or textbooks.

The prize will carry an honorarium of $1000 and a citation describing the book’s merits. An additional amount (up to $1500) will be available to cover the prizewinner’s expenses to attend the award ceremony at the IAFFE annual conference. The prizewinner will be invited to make a presentation or participate in a conference event on the book’s subject. For a dual-authored book, the prize will be split between authors, and the travel support shared.

For this round of the prize, to be awarded at the 2021 IAFFE Annual Conference, books published in the calendar years 2018 and 2019 are eligible. Nominators can be publishers, authors, or other interested parties. Nominators must first complete and submit to Andrea Collins (acollins@iaffe.org) a Nomination Form available at http://www.iaffe.org/agarwal-book-prize/or from Andrea Collins. Second, the nominators must send, or arrange to have the publisher send, a hard copy of the book (or, exceptionally, a digital copy) to each of the three Prize Committee members (whose names and addresses will be on the Nomination Form), along with a copy of the form. Reviews can be included with submissions. 

Click HERE for more information.

Agarwal Prize Contact Person
Andrea Collins
Business Manager & Conference Coordinator
International Association for Feminist Economics