Ministerial role

Minister of State

Organisations: Cabinet Office and HM Treasury
Current role holder: Lord Agnew


Current role holder

Lord Agnew

Lord Theodore Agnew was appointed Minister of State at the Cabinet Office and Her Majesty’s Treasury on 14 February 2020.

He was previously Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the School System from 28 September 2017 to 14 February 2020. He also served as a lead non-executive board member at the Ministry of Justice, and a non-executive board member at the Department for Education where he was chair of the department’s Academies Board from 2013 to 2015.

Outside of the department, Lord Agnew founded Somerton Capital LLP in 2007 and co-founded the WNS Group (a US listed company) in 1990.

More about this person


  1. Procurement Policy Note 04/20: Recovery and Transition from COVID-19
  2. Former Government training centre sold to provide new homes and a retirement village